Pedestal update

Good day you all readers

Today the tiem was on my side and I have spent some time to get the COM1 active and standby panel to work with PMDG 738.

First I found out I had two Arduino boards that were damaged, or if I should say it more correct, Chinese ones that does not work at all. So I ordered some new Arduino cards and chained the two display units for the COM1 panels.

Before you chain these 7 segment display units you should remove the D1 diode on each display since these make the voltage drop about 0.7V/display you chain. That means that you will never have the same intensity on the display units if you do not supply each display unit with separate 5V instead of using the arduino 5V supply.

Once the diode is removed, remember to place a bridge were the diode was put otherwise nothing will work.

After that is done you must be very careful with where the 5V line is put, if you put the 5V where the GND should be you will burn the IC on the card and you will need to throw the card away. I simply recommend ribbon cables, then not much can go wrong.

After this was done, a few minutes of programming in Mobiflight and then my panel is up and running very nice.

The image here shows my panel on the left and the PMDG panel in my simulator on the right;
Pedestal-COM1
Also, I have put the sun film on the displays on the top so you can see the difference between COM1 and NAV1. NAV1 does not have any sun film so far.

All buttons work great and I am very happy.
Will update again as soon as I have something new to tell you.

Have a wonderful time and fly safe!

Leave a comment